Training Tales: Yessi Day 4: Trail Running

Posted: May 4, 2011 in Training Tales
Tags: , , ,

Yessi's self-portrait after our trail run today.

Yessi and I did some trail running today to give our legs a break from hard trails and to enjoy a change of scenery. We started with 5 minutes of walking to warm up (it was chilly for May, in the 50s) then ran for 10 minutes before walking another 5 and then running for 5. We had not run for more than a 5-minute stretch yet but Yessi did great on the 10-minute run. We kept a steady pace and she did not have trouble completing the run. Our pace times were slower than usual, which is normal for trail running because of all the twists and turns and small obstacles.

Here is our fourth day’s workout:

  • 5-minute walk to warm up
  • 10 minutes of trail running at an average pace of 13-minute miles
  • 5-minute recovery walk
  • 5 minutes of trail running at12:05 pace
  • 5-minute walk to cool down
Total time working out: 30 minutes
Total running time: 15 minutes
Total Distance: 2.05 miles
Trail: Creve Coeur Park bike trails
Conditions: Sunny, 53 degrees
Yessi: Is doing so well! I have no doubt she will be ready for next week when I add more minutes to the running segments. We also have picked out a 5K race to train for, the I Love Forest Park 5K run on June 26.
Comments
  1. yessi says:

    I really enjoyed the trail run, Marnie! I didn’t think I was going to notice a difference between running on pavement and running on dirt but I totally did. I also noticed that my mind was too busy concentrating on the continuous twists and turns of the trail that I didn’t dwell on thoughts about how tired I was or wondering how much longer we had to go. Thank you!

    • Marnie says:

      Great, I’m glad you enjoyed the run! We’ll have to do more trail running since you liked it so much. I feel like that too, it gives you something to focus on besides being tired, and you never know what may pop up on the trail, it’s an adventure;).

Leave a Reply

